A Lois Lane Young Adult Novel Is Coming (And Awesomely Familiar)

I’ve said for a very long time that DC would be smart to put out a book featuring a young Lois Lane in the vein of Veronica Mars, and I’m certainly not the only one. The company has finally heeded that call in the form of a young adult novel by Gwenda Bond.

Here’s how the publisher, Capstone/Switch, describes Lois Lane: Fallout:

Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over—and seen all kinds of things. (Some of them defy explanation, like the near-disaster she witnessed in Kansas in the middle of one night.) But now her family is putting down roots in the big city, and Lois is determined to fit in. Stay quiet. Fly straight. As soon as she steps into her new high school, though, she can see it won’t be that easy. A group known as the Warheads is making life miserable for another girl at school. They’re messing with her mind, somehow, via the high-tech immersive videogame they all play. Not cool. Armed with her wit and her new snazzy job as a reporter, Lois has her sights set on solving this mystery. But sometimes it’s all a bit much. Thank goodness for her maybe-more-than-a friend, a guy she knows only by his screenname, SmallvilleGuy …

Lois Lane, teen reporter, solving mysteries. I’m so there.

tumblr_inline_navwebKkqU1qbujox

On the surface, Bond’s novel sounds a bit like the concept Project Rooftop’s Dean Trippe pitched a few years ago. The main difference being that series would have been illustrated and feature an 11 year-old Lois travelling the country (still as an Army brat).

Either way, it’s great to see one of the first comic book characters getting her own spotlight again.

Skott Stotland is a thousand monkeys in a man suit. He has been writing for the internet for over a decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.